A Trip to Frosta

20 Aug

Thursday afternoon my mum and I began the trip up to Trondheim, staying one night at Lillehammer first, to pack my stuff and clean out my room here. We arrived on Friday and started working right away, as there was a lot (still is) of stuff that needed to be packed in boxes. After all, I’ve been living here for over two years, so I have quite a lot of stuff!

It was so nice coming back to Trøndelag (the county) again, especially seeing friends after a long summer. I even found the time to party a bit on Saturday night 😉 The day after I went to Frosta, a small town an hour north from Trondheim. My mum had already been there a day. It’s her homeplace, and where her family is from, so I’ve spent a lot of time there as a kid on weekends and holidays, so it was so nice finally going there again. It’s been way too long since the last time, after my grandparents died and we moved to Sarpsborg we didn’t have as much reason to visit often. We have to go a lot more freqently in the future! It was a bit bittersweet though, to go there and see where the family’s old farm house used to be, as it has sadly been demolished. It’s so incredibly sad, it was such a beatuiful old building, from the mid-1600s and so full of memories. It’s still seems quite unreal that it’s not there anymore.

In other ways Frosta hasn’t changed much though, it’s still as beatiful as I remember it to be.

The monastery ruins on Tautra

The monastery ruins on Tautra

A view over Frosta in the evening sun

A view over Frosta in the evening sun

Lunch at Frosta

Lunch at Frosta

Lunch at Frosta

Lunch at Frosta

Of course we had to visit my grandparent's grave and put some new flowers there.

Of course we had to visit my grandparent’s grave and put some new flowers there.

Logtun Church

Logtun Church

Logtun Church

Logtun Church

Logtun

Logtun

Tinghaugen - the site of an early Norwegian court

Tinghaugen – the site of an early Norwegian court

Where the house should have been..

Where the house should have been..

Leave a Reply

